Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Lasara ISD


Ajax Loading Image


Weslaco High School Invitational Meet

The Weslaco High School Invitational Meet was in person on January 22, 2022.  The Weslaco staff only allowed 33 schools to compete in their meet.  They also took precautions to keep everyone safe.  Each school was assigned a designated area to wait for the events.  We were given a classroom.  This way our students had minimal contact with students from other schools. I am very grateful to the Weslaco High School Staff for their abundance of caution to protect all the students and coaches at their meet.  I am also very proud of my UIL team for representing Lasara High School wonderfully.

Feature Writing                                                                                         

    Ceinwynn Oerther 1st                                                                               

     Kacey Maldonado 3rd                                                                               

 Current Events  1st Place Team:                                                                                                            

    Matthew Tamez 1st                                                                                                                   

    Marcus Barco 7th                                                                                                                  

    Jason Mendo

    Elliana Chapa

    Jazmine Flores

News Writing                                                                                          

    Novice: Kacey Maldonado 1st                                                                   

                Ceinwynn Oerther 2nd                                                                 

    Veteran: Victoria Velazquez 1st

                  Selissa Gonzales 4th

Editorial Writing

    Mariana Contreras 1st

    Marcus Barco 3rd

 Literary Criticism                                                                                     

     Elliana Chapa 2nd                                                                                  

 Social Studies                                                                                                                                   

    Matthew Tamez 6th

    Jasmine flores 8th

Copy Editing                                                                                             

    Victoria Velazquez 1st                                                                             

    Jazmine Flores 2nd                                                                                  

Headline Writing 

    Jazmine Flores 1st

    Ceinwynn Oerther 4th


    Victoria Velazquez 4th